Adopt A Gluten Free Blogger: I Am Gluten Free: Bagels

Adopt a Gluten Free Blogger

Unfortunately, I don’t know Ellen of I Am Gluten Free very well, but she has many wonderful looking recipes on her blog. The Cinnamon Rolls, Blueberry Muffins, Homerun GF Chocolate Chip Cookies, and Ranch Dressing all look wonderful! I was really excited to find this bagel recipe on her blog. I’ve never been much of a breakfast/bread eater, but in the old days I did enjoy bagels for a quick breakfast or snack – especially spread with peanut butter and topped with chocolate chips, so I was really excited about finding it.

The Bagel Adventure

Flours for bagels

6:30 – Started measuring out the flours…

7:50 A.M. – It occurred to me this morning, as I was thinking about when I would be making these, that it might be a little ambitious to make bagels for your first time baking gluten-free. I think I’m up for the challenge though.

8:30 AM. – I just finished measuring the flours. It has always taken me a long time to measure out flours so I’m not surprised… especially since I kept turning around to tell Mom how excited I am to be baking again.

Bagel dough

9:00 – All mixed. Now comes the sticky part – rolling them out.

 Uncooked

9:40 – Put them in the oven to rise.

10:40 – They haven’t risen at all. Not sure what I did wrong.

11:00 – Putting them in the oven to bake, despite the lack of rising. Hopefully they will be “okay”.

 Baked

11:28 – Taste tested them… they taste great – it’s wonderful to be eating bread again. Definitely will be trying them again.

I do have a lot of questions… what kind of yeast should be used… what speed should it be mixed on… is there something that could replace the flaxmeal to make a less grainy bagel…

I will be gone all weekend, so I won’t have time to try making these again, or anything else of Ellen’s. :( I may return later and edit some photos into this post if I have time.

1 Comment

Filed under baking stories, events

One response to “Adopt A Gluten Free Blogger: I Am Gluten Free: Bagels

  1. Pingback: Adopt a Gluten-Free Blogger Roundup- February | Book of Yum

Leave a Reply

